Homework 3 - es 2

Homework 3 - es 2

di ISACCO GAVAZZI -
Numero di risposte: 4
Let me apologise if my questions are trivial/bad posed but i'm new to this things.

About the exercise:The text said "using Dirichlet, Categorical and Normal" but doesn't specify which variable has one distribution, which the other. Is it the same of the exercise done at lesson? Or is different?

Thank you

In riposta a ISACCO GAVAZZI

Ri: Homework 3 - es 2

di FRANCESCO BRAND -

Hi,

I'm adding on this so that I don't create a new thread for the same exercise: even assuming that the variables belong to the same family of distributions of the similar example in the graphical models notebook, I haven't fully understood how to make the z variables dependent on the previous one in pyro. Not specifying the underline distribution, I wanted to know if something like:

with pyro.plate('var', N):
     z = pyro.sample('z', dist.some_distributions(probs=theta[theta_probs]))
     theta_probs = z

is actually ok for our task. From what I've understood "with pyro.plate" treats the samples made within its context conditionally independent, but in this case I would be changing the distribution at each iteration of the loop, thus defining a dependence. Is this a proper way to encode the concept presented in the given graphical model? I have read through the examples on the pyro webpage but I am still insecure of how to properly use pyro tools.

Best regards,

Francesco

In riposta a FRANCESCO BRAND

di GINEVRA CARBONE -

Hi Francesco,

the correctness of your answer depends on how you defined `theta`.

A colleague of yours asked me a similar question about the conditional dependence between the z variables, so I think I should give you all a hint.